Google is enhancing its familiar Google +1 button to give people more control over the content they share and who they share it with.
Found on many a Web site these days, the +1 button lets you share and recommend specific content through Google+, which can then appear as recommended pages in Google's search results. But the button has been limited in that you've only been able to share links publicly and couldn't comment on what you were sharing.
Now Google has tweaked the +1 button, says a blog posted yesterday, giving you the option to share a page with your Google+ circles and offer an opinion on what you're sharing.
When you click on the +1 button, you'll see a new field called "Share on Google+." Clicking in that field gives you the ability to start a conversation by including a comment about the content.
By default, the content gets shared publicly. But by clicking on the option that says "Add more people," you can change your audience by including folks from specific circles. You can also close the button that says "Public" if you want to share the content only with the people you know rather than the entire Google population.
After you've made your comment and chosen your intended audience, you can then click on the Share button to finish.
Clicking on the new +1 button also displays a linked title, image, and brief description of the item you're sharing, which Google calls "snippets." Web site publishers can customize those snippets, as described in Google's Webmaster blog, to include other information and hopefully drive more Web traffic their way.
The new sharing and snippets options are rolling out gradually over the next week, so they may only be available on a limited number of Web sites for now. But people eager to see the new +1 button in action now can sign up with the Google+ Platform Preview and then try the button on a site like Rotten Tomatoes to see how it works.
Powered By WizardRSS.com | Full Text RSS Feed | Amazon Plugin | Settlement Statement | WordPress Tutorials
Found on many a Web site these days, the +1 button lets you share and recommend specific content through Google+, which can then appear as recommended pages in Google's search results. But the button has been limited in that you've only been able to share links publicly and couldn't comment on what you were sharing.
Now Google has tweaked the +1 button, says a blog posted yesterday, giving you the option to share a page with your Google+ circles and offer an opinion on what you're sharing.
When you click on the +1 button, you'll see a new field called "Share on Google+." Clicking in that field gives you the ability to start a conversation by including a comment about the content.
By default, the content gets shared publicly. But by clicking on the option that says "Add more people," you can change your audience by including folks from specific circles. You can also close the button that says "Public" if you want to share the content only with the people you know rather than the entire Google population.
After you've made your comment and chosen your intended audience, you can then click on the Share button to finish.
Clicking on the new +1 button also displays a linked title, image, and brief description of the item you're sharing, which Google calls "snippets." Web site publishers can customize those snippets, as described in Google's Webmaster blog, to include other information and hopefully drive more Web traffic their way.
The new sharing and snippets options are rolling out gradually over the next week, so they may only be available on a limited number of Web sites for now. But people eager to see the new +1 button in action now can sign up with the Google+ Platform Preview and then try the button on a site like Rotten Tomatoes to see how it works.
Powered By WizardRSS.com | Full Text RSS Feed | Amazon Plugin | Settlement Statement | WordPress Tutorials

